Reviews - Grimston House

Xmas Markets weekend 8/9/10 Dec - Rating 4/5

Fabulously warm welcome.It was a shame the log fire was not on for the second night in the lounge.Room could be brighter - energy saving bulbs left it a bit dark.New mattress needed as bed sunk below hard wood frame.Breakfast delicious and very accommodating people.Would recommend and stay again some time.

Response

Thank you very much Neil.It was a pleasure having you to stay. I take on board your comments about the fire and funnily enough we deliberated whether or not to light it as it hadn\'t been getting used on the Saturday night over the past weeks, but will do in future just in case.RE the mattress it was a new bed and mattress in in September but maybe I will swap it for a harder one. The room is due to be decorated in January as the current colour drains the light. I do appreciate your comments as we can only do something about glitches if we know about them.Hope to see you again sometime - maybe in the summer to take in the coast and moors too.Regards Paul

Reviewer:Mr Neil O\'Gorman | Mon 11th Dec 2017


GRIMSTON HOUSE DEC 2017 - Rating 5/5

A first visit which was excellent. Rooms large and very clean, warm and comfortable. The choice for breakfast was goo, the food freshly prepared and well cooked. We can recommend it wholeheartedly and will certainly return ourselves when in the area

Response

thank you John. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime.Regards Paul

Reviewer:Mr John Jarvis | Thu 7th Dec 2017


Breath taking - Rating 5/5

There is only one word I would use and that is exceptional.You will be spoiled if you stay here it\'s that good

Response

Thank you Andrew.Grimston House is a lovely house and so pleased you enjoyed your stay.Promise you will be spoiled again if you come again.Paul

Reviewer:Mr Andrew Aldridge | Wed 29th Nov 2017


Lovely stay, in a lovely setting - Rating 5/5

Welcoming, warm and homely, everything you need in a bed and breakfast, plus good free parking, which is always a bonus. Great breakfast selection, plus snacks and evening meals are available on request, so no chance of going hungry, especially as homemade cake and biscuits magically appear in your room!We\'d happily visit again.

Response

Thank you very much Deborah.Glad you enjoyed the magical cakes and biscuits.We don\'t like you to go hungry at grimston. Hope you will come and visit again.Paul

Reviewer:Deborah Chowney | Tue 21st Nov 2017


Grimston house,york - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the above location and it was fantastic with very attentive hosts.Didnt hear a thing at night,best sleep in years 10 out of 10 for everything!!!!!

Response

Thank you Frank. It was lovely to meet you both and so glad you enjoyed your stay.I hope you will visitagain soon. Paul

Reviewer:frank flannigan | Mon 20th Nov 2017


Lovely relaxing short break - Rating 5/5

A warm and friendly welcome with log fire,scones and homemade jam waiting with a potof tea. Room most comfortable,warm(November visit) and with treats to have with tea or coffee later etcBreakfasts superb- beautifully cooked. Nothing is too much trouble.Would recommend Grimston House highly and we hope to visit ourselves again the future

Response

Thank you very much John it was a pleasure to meet you both and am so glad you made usethe lounge and the log fire. I hope you found your brother in good spirits and look forward to meeting you again. Paul

Reviewer:John Clifford | Tue 14th Nov 2017


Week end away - Rating 5/5

Superb place to stay thank you .we were made to feel welcome straight by going into the lounge for tea and homemade scones.clean and comfortable accommodation ,wonderful breakfast .will stay there again .

Response

Thank you very much Norma. It has been a pleasure looking after your family during their visits to your granddaughter at University.

Reviewer:mrs normaward | Mon 30th Oct 2017


Great place! - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Nice room and excellent breakfast.

Response

Thank you very much Kathleen.I hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Reviewer:Kathleen Hoehn | Mon 30th Oct 2017


Lovely house! - Rating 4/5

Very nice room, guesthouse is beatiful. Great breakfast

Response

Thank you for staying with us Gemma. I hope your son has settled at University and hope to seeyou again sometime.Say hello to Norfolk.

Reviewer:Gemma Brook | Mon 16th Oct 2017


second visit - Rating 4/5

Always a friendly welcome, followed by home comfortsand a good hearty breakfast.

Response

Thank you Caroline.I am glad your daughter has settled at university and we look forward to meeting your parents next weekend.Have a good holiday

Reviewer:caroline brooks | Mon 16th Oct 2017


Very pleasant experience - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable accommodation, welcoming hosts, excellent breakfast.Highly recommended

Response

Thank you RoyIts was lovely to see you again and thank you for taking the trouble to write.Enjoy your playing your accordionit is beautiful to listen to

Reviewer:Roy Miller | Fri 13th Oct 2017


Comfortable overnight stay - Rating 4/5

We had a comfortable stay in a quiet room overlooking a beautiful landscape garden. The breakfast was perfect for the busy day ahead.

Response

Thank you very much for your review.I do hope your son\'s house move went well.kind regards Paul

Reviewer:Diana Coles | Sat 7th Oct 2017


Short stay - Rating 4/5

Grimston house is ideally situated when visiting York. Quiet location, generous sized rooms, in need of more modern decor but extremely clean. Fabulous cooked breakfast and friendly hosts. Would definitely stay again.

Response

Thank you for your review Caroline.Grimston House is indeed in a redecoration prograsmme so I hope if you come again you will notice changes.Thank you for recommending your parents.Paul

Reviewer:caroline brooks | Mon 25th Sep 2017


Grimston House- Rating 5/5

Exactly as description nice and quiet a lovely place to stay.

Response

Thank you very much Peter. I hope you had anothersuccessful day at York races and hope to see you againHilary

Reviewer:Peter Hartley | Sat 26th Aug 2017