Reviews - Grimston House

Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant two night stay. Friendly welcome on arrival. Comfortable room and excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Nicholas M | Wed 19th Sep 2018 | 4 weeks ago


An excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

My wife and I have travelled a lot in my lives but this B&B exceeded all my our expectations.Our hosts were very friendly and made us welcome. We were welcomed with a cup of tea and cakes in the downstairs sitting room. We were given a two room suite on the first floor, where the beds were comfortable and clean. I carry a blue card but the wide stairs make it easy to go up and downstairs. The full English breakfast set us up for the day and when we went to York that day we returned to our rooms and found two slices of cake awaiting us.We will definitely return to Grimston House.

Response

Thank you so much for this, for taking the trouble to email direct and for the flowers you brought in.It is always such a bonus to know you enjoyed your stay have been looked after.You are such a jovialcouple and we are honoured that you chose here for your wedding anniversary.You certainly don\'t look old enough !Please come again if you are in the area.Kind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs R B H | Wed 19th Sep 2018 | 4 weeks ago


Stay - Rating 4/5

Very hospitable, clean and friendly. Attention to detail was noted

Response

Thank you Irene. It was lovely to see you again after you first visit and i hope that we will see you again if you are working in the area.Paul

Reviewer:Irene Debiram B | Wed 5th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed for two nights while going to a wedding nearby. What a lovely and comfortable stay. Would recommend this b &b to anyone to stay. Full english breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. Beds very comfortable. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Donna L | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

Lovely place close to YorkStaff very helpful and friendlyRoom was clean and comfortableWould definitely stay here again

Reviewer:Jo H | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


I rate this Very Highly- Rating 5/5

Such a lovely B&B .. I cannot rate this highly enoughHosts are exceptional...food scrumptious... so clean and comfortable... please book direct with B&B., it’scheaper than booking.com!! We will be back nextyear

Reviewer:Brigette C | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


My stay on 17/18th August 2018 - Rating 5/5

Once again a very enjoyable and comfortable stay. Paul and Hilary are delightful and welcoming hosts. My room was very comfortable and relaxing and the breakfast first rate.Thank you.Paul Hannaford

Response

Thank you Paul it is always a pleasure to see you .Paul

Reviewer:Paul H | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Highly Recommended Guest House - Rating 5/5

A lovely warm welcome was extended throughout our stay of 2 nights. The room was clean and comfy and had all the facilities you would expect, as well as an extra touch of some home made cake provided. The breakfast was delicious, with a wide variety of quality jams/marmalades available on thick, crunchy toast, as well as the usual full english.Some lovely touches that are not provided by the usual hotels made this a very pleasant stay.Highly recommended.

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write. We endeavour to add those home from home touches to make your stay as comfortable as possible and it is always very pleasing when they are noticed.I hope you will be able to join us againbest wishes paul

Reviewer:Dave C | Wed 15th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Beautiful setting- Rating 5/5

Lovely stay at Grimston house, a beautiful setting for my weekend with friendly and helpful hosts. My room was clean and comfortable with a view of the village and back garden. I would highly recommend if you don't mind being outside of York.

Response

Thank you Theresa.We are very local to York with good links via the bus service and the park and ride.I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit again sometimePaul

Reviewer:Theresa D | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


GREAT BREAKFAST - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night at grimston house .Our room was immaculately clean as was the bathroom .the breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and good quality ingredients.

Reviewer:David M | Mon 30th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


GREAT BREAKFAST - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night at grimston house .Our room was immaculately clean as was the bathroom .the breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and good quality ingredients.

Response

Thank you David.Very kind so much for taking the time and glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:David M | Mon 30th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Very good accommodation food and staff - Rating 5/5

Accommodation food very good Staffvery chearful and nothing seemed too much trouble

Response

Thank you Alan for taking the time to write. WE try to make our guests feel comfortable and home from home so am very pleased you enjoyed your stay.Paul

Reviewer:alan b | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Top B&B - Rating 5/5

A delightful nine day stay. Comfortable clean rooms with everything provided. Great breakfasts too. Good centre for exploring York etc. Friendly hosts, a superb B&B.Very highly recommended.

Response

Thank you Mr Robinson -Nina and yourself weredelightful guests andwow did you packa lot of trips into your stay - Holmfirth, Pickering and the north yorks railway, Scarborough, Harlow Carr gardens and of course York itself.Glad you arrived home safely and look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area.paul

Reviewer:mr r | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


great place - Rating 5/5

I booked us a 2 night break. it is well situated for access to both York and Selby The house sits back from the road in its own large grounds. There is a sweeping curved drive with plenty of parking space. The building looks charming from the out side which is also on the inside . We had warm welcome by the owners and shown our room number 5.A good sized room this room has a large curved window overlooking the front of the house. The room is beautifully decorated and has a large and comfy sleigh bed a very large mirrored wardrobe. Which also holds the little fridge in which we found 2 bottles of water and a small glass bottle of fresh milk . There is a sofa and small coffee table plus 2 chest of drawers as well as the 2 bedside cabinets so plenty of drawer space too.I found the hair dryer to be of good quality and a good sized vanity mirror on chest of drawers perfect. there is a large tray containing kettle, teapot ,2 good size glasses and 2 good size cups with saucers a small jar of boiled sweets plus a very well stocked tray of tea coffee sugar.the bathroom is a good size again well decorated and very clean ,The mirror perfect for make as it has a good light . the shower is a good size and easy to use ,the towels are of very good quality and size.On the evening of our arrival we were offered a cup of tea which was served in the lounge such a comfy room .after we had drunk our tea we choose to sit outside in the evening sun . there is the busy A19 just in front of the House but we did not find the traffic noise at all bothering, it blends into the back ground almost .breakfast is served in a lovely room . there was a good selection of cereals and cold juice plus fruit. the cooked breakfast is great . eggs fresh from the owners hen .we really had a great time so relaxing and homely .thanksps the cake you left in our room was fab x

Response

Thank you for your very detailed review for our room 5.We are very lucky to have such a charming house and are doing our utmost to make it even better. The road is a great access to York and Selbyand our chickens are laying well for your breakfasts and cakes.We do hope you will come and see us again.Paul

Reviewer:mrs g | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Lovely hosts, lovely overnight stay - highly recommend - Rating 5/5

I attended a craft course in the area and booked for an overnight stay.The hosts were very accomodating, offering to make me a sandwich when I arrived.If I had pre-arranged food would've been available upon my arrival.The host directed me to both a local supermarket and a pub offering good quality food.My room was comfortable, clean and spacious with all the amenities that I required and desired.There was a lounge where I could've rested and chatted with other guests however I was too tired to make use of this facility.The breakfast was varied, substantial and excellent quality.My breakfast was exactly as I requested.I would highly recommend Grimston House to any travellers to the York area.

Response

Thank you Louise it was lovely to meet you and see your felting creations. I had no idea what it was all about before I saw what you had done.I hope you enjoyed the second day of your course and hope you will be come and stay again sometime.

Reviewer:Louise M | Tue 3rd Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Ideal Location to visit York - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyable stay with fantastic breakfast. Location was ideal for visiting our son in university. Room 1 was great for us with the additional lounge area. We will be using Grimston House for future visits to York.

Response

Thank you Gareth. It was a pleasure and thank you for booking future visits.Look forward to seeing you again thenPaul

Reviewer:Gareth P | Tue 13th Feb 2018 | 8 months ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

A very friendly greeting from Marion (owners were away), who made us feel at home and promptly provided a welcoming cup of tea and scones which we enjoyed in the lounge with a roaring log fire.Lovely property, well appointed clean rooms. Plenty of parking. Excellent breakfast.Good friendly pub virtually next door.House is easy to find and a great location if visiting York.

Response

Thank you.Marion is a great asset to cover for meSo glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you may visit againPaul

Reviewer:Brian E | Tue 13th Feb 2018 | 8 months ago


EXCELLENT- Rating 5/5

Beautiful place to stay. Very clean and very comfortable.

Response

Thank you very muchShabana. I hope you will stay again when you working in the area and if you do we can always offer a more competitive price if booked directly on our site.I hope your business is doing well and wish you a happy new year. Paul

Reviewer:Shabana D | Wed 3rd Jan 2018 | 9 months ago


Brilliant- Rating 5/5

A VERY COMFORTABLE PLACE TO STAY.ABSOLUTE DELIGHT.THIS COUPLE COULD NOT DO ENOUGH FOR US.HOSPITALITY AT IT'S BESTSPOTLESS FOOD EXCELLENT.WE HOPE 2018 IS A BUMPER YEAR FOR THEM.OUR STAY WAS 2ND TO NONE.

Reviewer:John S | Tue 19th Dec 2017 | 10 months ago


Xmas visit to York - Rating 5/5

Lovely big house warm and cosy inside, bedroom lovely.Great hosts who make you feel very welcome. Breakfast excellent with plenty of choices. Would recommend it for long or short stays.

Response

Thank you AnnApologies for the delay in my response. It slipped the net.I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write.

Reviewer:Ann D | Mon 18th Dec 2017 | 10 months ago


Xmas Markets weekend 8/9/10 Dec - Rating 4/5

Fabulously warm welcome.It was a shame the log fire was not on for the second night in the lounge.Room could be brighter - energy saving bulbs left it a bit dark.New mattress needed as bed sunk below hard wood frame.Breakfast delicious and very accommodating people.Would recommend and stay again some time.

Response

Thank you very much Neil.It was a pleasure having you to stay. I take on board your comments about the fire and funnily enough we deliberated whether or not to light it as it hadn\\\'t been getting used on the Saturday night over the past weeks, but will do in future just in case.RE the mattress it was a new bed and mattress in in September but maybe I will swap it for a harder one. The room is due to be decorated in January as the current colour drains the light.I do appreciate your comments as we can only do something about glitches if we know about them.Hope to see you again sometime - maybe in the summer to take in the coast and moors too.Regards Paul

Reviewer:Mr Neil O | Mon 11th Dec 2017 | 10 months ago


GRIMSTON HOUSE DEC 2017 - Rating 5/5

A first visit which was excellent. Rooms large and very clean, warm and comfortable. The choice for breakfast was goo, the food freshly prepared and well cooked. We can recommend it wholeheartedly and will certainly return ourselves when in the area

Response

thank you John. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime.Regards Paul

Reviewer:Mr John J | Thu 7th Dec 2017 | 10 months ago


Breath taking - Rating 5/5

There is only one word I would use and that is exceptional.You will be spoiled if you stay here it's that good

Response

Thank you Andrew.Grimston House is a lovely house and so pleased you enjoyed your stay.Promise you will be spoiled again if you come again.Paul

Reviewer:Mr Andrew A | Wed 29th Nov 2017 | 10 months ago


Lovely stay, in a lovely setting - Rating 5/5

Welcoming, warm and homely, everything you need in a bed and breakfast, plus good free parking, which is always a bonus. Great breakfast selection, plus snacks and evening meals are available on request, so no chance of going hungry, especially as homemade cake and biscuits magically appear in your room!We'd happily visit again.

Response

Thank you very much Deborah.Glad you enjoyed the magical cakes and biscuits.We don\'t like you to go hungry at grimston. Hope you will come and visit again.Paul

Reviewer:Deborah C | Tue 21st Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


Grimston house,york - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the above location and it was fantastic with very attentive hosts.Didnt hear a thing at night,best sleep in years 10 out of 10 for everything!!!!!

Response

Thank you Frank. It was lovely to meet you both and so glad you enjoyed your stay.I hope you will visitagain soon. Paul

Reviewer:frank f | Mon 20th Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


Lovely relaxing short break - Rating 5/5

A warm and friendly welcome with log fire,scones and homemade jam waiting with a potof tea. Room most comfortable,warm(November visit) and with treats to have with tea or coffee later etcBreakfasts superb- beautifully cooked. Nothing is too much trouble.Would recommend Grimston House highly and we hope to visit ourselves again the future

Response

Thank you very much John it was a pleasure to meet you both and am so glad you made usethe lounge and the log fire.I hope you found your brother in good spirits and look forward to meeting you again.Paul

Reviewer:John C | Tue 14th Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


Week end away - Rating 5/5

Superb place to stay thank you .we were made to feel welcome straight by going into the lounge for tea and homemade scones.clean and comfortable accommodation ,wonderful breakfast .will stay there again .

Response

Thank you very much Norma.It has been a pleasure looking after your family during their visits to your granddaughter at University.

Reviewer:mrs normaw | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 11 months ago


Great place! - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Nice room and excellent breakfast.

Response

Thank you very much Kathleen.I hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Reviewer:Kathleen H | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 11 months ago


second visit - Rating 4/5

Always a friendly welcome, followed by home comfortsand a good hearty breakfast.

Response

Thank you Caroline.I am glad your daughter has settled at university and we look forward to meeting your parents next weekend.Have a good holiday

Reviewer:caroline b | Mon 16th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely house! - Rating 4/5

Very nice room, guesthouse is beatiful. Great breakfast

Response

Thank you for staying with us Gemma. I hope your son has settled at University and hope to seeyou again sometime.Say hello to Norfolk.

Reviewer:Gemma B | Mon 16th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Very pleasant experience - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable accommodation, welcoming hosts, excellent breakfast.Highly recommended

Response

Thank you RoyIts was lovely to see you again and thank you for taking the trouble to write.Enjoy your playing your accordionit is beautiful to listen to

Reviewer:Roy M | Fri 13th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Comfortable overnight stay - Rating 4/5

We had a comfortable stay in a quiet room overlooking a beautiful landscape garden. The breakfast was perfect for the busy day ahead.

Response

Thank you very much for your review.I do hope your son\'s house move went well.kind regards Paul

Reviewer:Diana C | Sat 7th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Short stay - Rating 4/5

Grimston house is ideally situated when visiting York. Quiet location, generous sized rooms, in need of more modern decor but extremely clean. Fabulous cooked breakfast and friendly hosts. Would definitely stay again.

Response

Thank you for your review Caroline.Grimston House is indeed in a redecoration prograsmme so I hope if you come again you will notice changes.Thank you for recommending your parents.Paul

Reviewer:caroline b | Mon 25th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Grimston House- Rating 5/5

Exactly as description nice and quiet a lovely place to stay.

Response

Thank you very much Peter.I hope you had anothersuccessful day at York races and hope to see you againHilary

Reviewer:Peter H | Sat 26th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago